Monday, March 4, 2013

Scanning the SoCon Postseason Awards

Thank you to all the Scanning the SoCon contributors who voted for these awards. Points were awarded 4 points for first place vote, 2 points for second place vote, and 1 point for third place vote. Congratulations to all the winners!

1st Team All SoCon

Jake Cohen, Davidson
Mike Groselle, The Citadel
Trevis Simpson, UNCG
Trey Sumler, Western Carolina
Lucas Troutman, Elon

2nd Team All SoCon

De'Mon Brooks, Davidson
Nathan Healy, Appalachian State
Raijon Kelly, Samford
Andrew Lawrence, College of Charleston
Z Mason, Chattanooga

3rd Team All SoCon

Adejhi Baru, College of Charleston
Karl Cochran, Wofford
Eric Ferguson, Georgia Southern
Jack Isenbarger, Elon
Tim Williams, Samford

All Freshman Team

Spencer Collins, Wofford
Clide Geffrard Jr, Samford
Gee McGhee, Chattanooga
Matt Van Scyoc, The Citadel
Tim Williams, Samford

Player of the Year

Jake Cohen, Davidson- 25 points

Lucas Troutman (Elon) 11, Trey Sumler (Western Carolina) 9, Mike Groselle (The Citadel) 7, Nathan Healy (Appalachian State) 7, Trevis Simpson (UNCG) 6, De'Mon Brooks (Davidson) 4, Andrew Lawrence (College of Charleston) 3, Ryley Beaumont (Elon) 2, Z Mason (Chattanooga) 2, Karl Cochran (Wofford) 1.

Freshman of the Year

Tim Williams, Samford- 42 points

Gee McGhee (Chattanooga) 24, Spencer Collins (Wofford) 4, Clide Geffrard Jr (Samford) 3, Kayel Locke (UNCG) 2, Matt Van Scyoc (The Citadel) 1, Stephen Croone (Georgia Southern) 1.

Coach of the Year

Matt Matheny, Elon- 7 votes

Bennie Seltzer (Samford) 3, Bob McKillop (Davidson) 1.


  1. Player of the Year
    Ryley Beaumont (Elon) 2, Z Mason (Chattanooga) 2


  2. Based on points in the voting, they each received two points, which is either one second place vote, or two third place votes.

  3. At least Z Mason made the 2nd team. Beaumont wasn't even voted onto the 3rd team.